Need info or help?
Get it here

Drug Education Network Board

Filed in: leadership

The Drug Education Network Inc. (DEN) is incorporated as an association under the Associations Incorporation Act, 1964.

DEN is governed by a Board, currently consisting of seven members elected for a twelve-month term at the DEN Annual General Meeting.

Current Board Members

Iris Goetzki

A photograph of the head and shoulders of Iris. She has brown hair in a short bob and is standing against a floral background.

Iris Goetzki was appointed to the DEN Board in November 2020 and is currently employed as Manager Activation Programs and Tourism with the City of Hobart.  Iris has over 25 years experience in management, marketing and communications including with peak industry associations, local government, public relations and in the financial services sector.  Iris also has extensive voluntary experience with peak body and community sector boards. With a diverse and varied career that has seen her working closely with business as well as not-for-profit groups, Iris is passionate about delivering quality and value.


Vice President
Allison Matthews

A photograph of Allison Matthews. She is a caucasian woman smiling at the camera with shoulder length wavy brown hair, and is wearing a navy blue suit jacket

Dr Allison Matthews is a Lecturer within the School of Psychological Sciences at the University of Tasmania. Dr Matthews coordinated the Tasmanian arm of a federally funded drug monitoring project, the ecstasy and related drug reporting system (EDRS) between 2004 and 2015 and sat on a Tasmanian drug monitoring advisory group during this time. Dr Matthews has published over 20 technical reports and bulletins in collaboration with the National Drug and Alcohol Centre (NDARC) and over 30 peer-reviewed journal articles in the AOD field. Publications include the effects of substance use on cognition and brain activity, risk factors associated with driving under the influence, the correlates of mental health problems among AOD consumers, drug dependence syndromes, the use of emerging psychoactive stimulants, and the impact of drug policy measures such as sniffer dogs, e-cigarettes, and roadside drug testing.


Treasurer, & Finance and Risk Subcommittee Chair
Ben Serong


An icon of the head and shoulders of a person with androgynous hair wearing a grey button-down shirt. The skin, hair and background are shades of green.

Ben is the current Treasurer of the Drug Education Network Inc. Board.


Public Officer
David Daniels

A photograph of David Daniels. He is a caucasian man smiling at the camera with soft short grey hair and is wearing a suit and green and black tie.

David is a Founding Member of the Drug Education Network and was pivotal in the creation of and ongoing success of the organisation. He started his working career at an early age in sales and marketing, and progressed to a General Manager position of a multi-national company where he served for 37 years. David has had a very distinguished career in Lions Clubs International since joining the Lions Club of Moonah in 1981. A committed and passionate worker and Lion, David has a long history of awards and accolades both within and outside of Lions, including being the recipient of the Commonwealth Centenary Medal for work with the Community and Lions, and recipient of the Order of Australia through work with Lions and Crime Stoppers. David served as Chair of the DEN Board for over 25 years and continues to be a strong and driven member in his position as Public Officer. In what spare time available, he loves getting to his holiday home and ties to get in some fishing.


Communications and Marketing Subcommittee Chair
Jessica Brewer

A photograph of Jessica Brewer. She has blonde hair tied in a neat ponytail and is wearing round glasses. She is standing against a leafy background.

Jessica joined the DEN Board in November 2020. She is currently employed as a Senior Policy Analyst with the Department of Education working across multiple education policy topics with a focus on the national policy agenda. Jessica previously worked in federal politics covering a variety of policy, media and communications areas. Born, raised and educated in Tasmania Jessica is passionate about creating opportunities to support the community to thrive.


Simon Angilley

A photograph of Simon Angilley. He is a caucasian man smiling at the camera with short grey hair, short full beard, and is wearing a suit with a light blue shirt.

Simon is an experienced project manager with a detailed planning and design coordination background. Currently the Community Development Group Leader with Central Coast Council, he previously spent two and a half decades in private industry, enjoying multi-disciplinary design teams and various site supervision roles. Simon is a member of the Tasmanian Heritage Council, and has extensive experience serving on a range of national committees for professional organisations. His interests include heritage, environment, architecture, cycling, and dad jokes.


Angela Waite

A photograph of Angela Waite. She is a caucasian woman smiling at the camera with medium length strawberry blonde hair falling in soft curls over her shoulders.

Angela is registered as a General Psychologist with AHPRA and has extensive experience working with vulnerable/at risk individuals, with a particular interest in working with adolescents. Additionally, Angela is passionate about supporting new clinicians and their journey in developing skills to nurture their future careers.  Angela is also a member of the Australian Psychological Society and more recently completed a Bachelor of Arts, Professional Honours in Human Services Practice through UTAS. Angela has experience working across public and private sectors of the mental health and wellbeing sectors and is currently working for The Link Youth Health Service as the Centre Manager for Headspace Hobart.


Sam Alexander
A photograph of the head and shoulders of Sam. He has dark hair and a cleanly shaven face, and is standing against a white background.

Sam Alexander was appointed to the DEN Board in November 2020 and is currently employed as an Assistant Director, Legal with the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. Prior to joining DFAT, Sam worked at the Department of Treasury and Finance and in private practice in Hobart and Brisbane. Amongst other qualifications Sam holds a Master of Laws and Bachelor of Laws (Hons).


Previous Board Members

  • Philip Holliday
  • Tom Lillywhite
  • Wayne Moore
  • Emma Lovibond
  • Sandra Lovell
  • Michael Robinson
  • Judy Travers
  • Lynden Pennicott
  • Michael Kelly
  • Andrea Heath
  • Cecile McKeown (Consultant)
  • Peter Ryan (Honorary Consultant)